About London Overground

The London Overground is a suburban network of rail services managed by TfL in the Capital. It was launched in 2007 to provide better connections between areas outside of central London. ARL operates these services on behalf of TfL.

Following the completion of the link between Clapham Junction and Surrey Quays, 30 per cent of all Londoners are less than a 15-minute walk from an Overground station.

There are seven routes, which were named in February 2024:

  • Windrush: Highbury & Islington to New Cross, Clapham Junction, Crystal Palace and West Croydon
  • Mildmay: Richmond and Clapham Junction to Stratford
  • Suffragette: Gospel Oak to Barking Riverside
  • Lioness: Watford Junction to Euston
  • Weaver: Liverpool Street to Enfield Town, Cheshunt and Chingford
  • Liberty: Romford to Upminster

Line naming